Not In The Past

Looking forward from 30

Brief jaunts

I took a day trip with my sisters on Saturday.  They had to pick up a friend of ours from the ferry terminal in Saint John, and they also had tickets to a production of Spring Awakening in Moncton that night.  I had been waffling whether to go or not but decided I might as well get out of town for the day.  Even though connection is just a message away and exit is possible, I can’t help but feel more isolated than ever when I’m in Miramichi.  Part of it is all the time I spend in my room at my computer, applying for jobs. Thanks to my impeccably bad sleeping pattern, I didn’t really get much sleep the night before, so I tried to sleep while they drove down to Saint John.  Once we picked up our friend, we decided to hit Rockwood Park for a quick dip before lunch.

I don’t mind visiting Saint John, but I’m not sure if I could ever live there; it feels more like a city than Moncton does (Saint John has that worn, established, urban vibe, where Moncton feels newer and more suburbs than city), but for some reason it just doesn’t feel like anywhere I’d settle down.  I can’t really explain it: I like the character of the city enough, I like Rockwood Park, it’s certainly not small…maybe it’s just that I don’t really have too many personal connections there.   I think part of my fondness for Halifax comes from childhood memories from when my family lived in Pictou.  Anyway, I’m rambling.

The girls and I headed to Moncton after a late lunch at East Side Mario’s (New York themed Italian restaurant chain in Canada).  It started to rain pretty heavily on the part of the highway between Sussex and Moncton, but let up by the time we had to do some walking around downtown Moncton.  The production of Spring Awakening was well done; it was the same group that had put on Rent about three years ago (Ghostlight Productions).  They’ve really grown as a theatre company and it’s always good to see cultural events organized nearby.  We had a late dinner at the Keg (worth every penny; I don’t usually go there because of the price but I hadn’t been for about two and a half years…) but decided to call off club-hopping due to a combination of exhaustion and an under-the-weather passenger.  We ended up getting back to Miramichi at about 3 am.

I’m heading to Sappyfest on Friday; I’ll be taking the train down there, staying in one of the Mount Allison University dorm rooms, and just hanging out in town enjoying the music.  Hopefully I’ll be less inclined to avoid the crowds as I was two years ago (read here, here and here for my “creative license” take on that weekend).  We should have a beer at Ducky’s.

I have a phone interview coming up on Tuesday; fingers crossed on this one.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Brief jaunts

  1. Fingers crossed:-) have a good time at sappy fest!!

Leave a Reply

