Not In The Past

Looking forward from 30

Purgatory

Staying in Miramichi is not an option for me anymore.  I feel like I’m repeating myself too much on this blog, but the fact of the matter is that I feel too “cut off” from things here to ever want to stay, and this feeling is amplified now that we don’t have intercity bus service in New Brunswick.  If we lose our VIA Rail connection, the feeling’s going to get worse.  I’m finally learning to drive since I probably should have a licence to find good work, but realistically, if you don’t have a car in Miramichi, you’re trapped, and at the mercy of other people.  I’m a little self-conscious about being dependent on other people for something I should have had years ago.

I sometimes wonder if it was worth the layoff, and bemoan my stasis, but whenever I run into someone from the job, I’m reminded that getting laid off was really an opportunity for me, because I definitely would have still been living for the next two days off back-to-back instead of thinking more about relocation.  I was particularly neutral about the job itself, and all the headaches that came with it: the worst part for me really was that I felt like my life was on hold when working in a call center.  I was making not even a dollar above the minimum wage in New Brunswick, and I couldn’t really focus on planning for the future because the job takes a surprising amount of energy out of you.  I recommend you read Call Center Purgatory to get a feel for what life in one is like.  Even when you like your co-workers and can wave off management decisions you don’t like, ultimately, you’re still defined by your stats.

Someone at a job search once told me: “You have your degree.  You definitely should not be in a call center.”  I’ve been working at call centers for longer than I was at university, though.  If I don’t have to wear a headset and tether myself to a computer to have every minute of my shift micro-managed to the last detail, I’ll be happy.

I’m working on my resume right now.  Skills you haven’t been able to use for years are still skills, right?

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

