Not In The Past

Looking forward from 30

In the employment desert

Today I met with an employment counselor to discuss the possibility of going back to school.   She was absolutely useless, basically telling me that since I already have a Bachelor’s Degree, I don’t qualify for anything to help fund retraining (never mind my father got something like that a few years ago and he had his Master’s).  Basically also gave me a bit of an attitude, at least what I was sensing, like “unless you can afford to live in another city full-time first before you get a job, you might as well settle for what’s here”.  There are jobs in my city, but there’s very little that aren’t call centre or Wal-Mart jobs.  Of if there are, I don’t really have the specific skill set (without going back to school), or they’re for something I’m completely ill-suited for.  I honestly got more help from the place in Halifax I dropped in.  Maybe she’s paid to keep people from fleeing the crumbling city; I don’t know.  She’s not worth getting worked up over, let alone her cushy paycheck.

The plan I have is just to do something for the next year (pay down some debt, get space, save money) and go back to school the year after that.   I’m wondering whether I should do Fredericton, Halifax, or another city.  I have a feeling my relocation options are limited to where I can get to within a day.  I’d love to go further afield and I wonder if I should get out of the Maritimes, but at the same time I feel like I’ve missed the train on career paths and opportunities, wasted too much time in the call centres, and basically cancelled out my degree.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “In the employment desert

  1. Ben, it’s never too late and job experience is never wasted. You are a personable, articulate man ,you’ll find something. When we are unemployed sometimes it seems insurmontable. You need to get back to what you love and maybe you do need to consider a move in the next few years. It sounds trite but you will get through this, we do.

Leave a Reply

