Not In The Past

Looking forward from 30

Out of Miramichi

I’ve talked a little earlier about how one of my goals is to get out of Miramichi for a little bit around my birthday (if anyone’s wondering, it’s two weeks from next Monday).  I haven’t left the region in a while: the last time I did leave was back in January to drop my sister off at the airport.  I haven’t settled on where exactly I want to go: Halifax would probably be my first choice since I’m planning to move there.  Moncton and Fredericton are also possibilities, although with the Acadian Lines lockout that has been going on since December, getting to and from Fredericton is difficult without a car. Doesn’t help that the train doesn’t go there either.  Going further to a place like Montreal or Toronto would be fun but unrealistic, and too much of a strain on my finances at the moment.  Where I end up going depends on a few factors, namely being able to secure a place to stay.

It’s not enough for me to go down to the city for the day to shop.  I’m starting to get tired of the Trinity Drive power centre (and whoever designed that whole area hates pedestrians).  As much as I like browsing a better selection of CDs, DVDs and Blu-Rays that I can find in Miramichi, which often feels cut off from the world culturally, I’ve become dissatisfied with going to the same chain stores you see in any sizable city and am more interested in the downtowns, the cafes and the restaurants.  I still like going to chain restaurants once in a while, but I feel like I’m just experiencing the same thing over and over again.  I’m fine with doing these things once in a while, but when it gets to the point when even special occasions and vacations are exercises in the overly familiar, it’s no longer satisfying.

Maybe I’ve only realized how empty consumerism is, but I really want to experience a bit more in my life than just buying shit.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Out of Miramichi

  1. Pingback: Restless again « Not In The Past

Leave a Reply

