Not In The Past

Looking forward from 30

The 100th Post

I decided what I needed to do for my 100th post had to be out of the ordinary.  That would have built it up in my mind and put a lot of pressure on me to make an outstanding post, wherein I reveal the nature of life and the universe, make astounding personal revelations, and go viral.  Then everything would go downhill from there…

I’m amazed at how I’ve been able to get to 100 posts on this blog.  None of my other WordPress blogs reached that goal yet…granted, my post count was boosted by the number of five-minute free writes I would do in November, but I still think it’s amazing how much I’ve committed to this blog recently.  Having a public blog with my name on it has challenged me with regard to the kind of content I provide on the site: I can’t be too candid and careless, and I still feel like I have to be fairly guarded at times, but at the same time this is giving me a challenge.  Life is always much more interesting when you have a problem you need to work around.

The incentive to keep writing comes partially from having an audience and people I want to continually engage with, but in the same sense, I would still need to write even if nobody was reading this site.  I would still need to sort out a world into the way that makes the most sense to me: in words.  When I really think about it, I love language, and I love the way those funny shaped lines and curves come to represent whole ideas when put together in certain combinations.

I think writing is the best way for me to fight for what I believe in.  Writing allows me to carefully craft my language in a way I don’t get when merely speaking: I express myself better in my writing than I do in a conversation.

I have friends that I feel like I’ve gotten to know without even hearing their voice.  I hope people feel that they know me better through my writing.

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “The 100th Post

  1. Stay at it, Ben! Write on.

  2. It’s a great feeling when you reach the 100 th, isn’t it?? Congrats, I’m enjoying your blog:-)

  3. Pogue Mahone on said:

    I am the same, not so good talking to people but can better express myself thru writing. As for seeing if anyone is reading your blog or not, you can find out quite easily! Hover your mouse where it says your name in the upper left corner and click on “dashboard” and then in the drop-down menu click “Site stats” and it has a graph that tells you daily how many visitors have come to your site. At the bottom it also tells you how many subscribers you have.

Leave a Reply

