Not In The Past

Looking forward from 30

Weekend offline

I’ve seen other people commit to spending a certain amount of time offline, and have admired them for it.  This is why I’ve decided to make one of my goals for my 30 Before 30 list be to spend a whole weekend offline for a whole weekend, and I’ve decided to make this weekend the one I fulfill the goal.

From 6:00 pm (Atlantic time) on Friday, February 24 to 9:00 am on Monday, February 27  my computer and iPod touch are staying off.  If you want to get in contact with me, please contact me by phone or text message (assuming you have my number…please contact me my e-mail before Friday if you need it).

One of the reasons I’m doing this is because I spend so much idle time looking at a screen.  It’s become a mindless impulse for me to turn on my computer as soon as I wake up to check my e-mail.  I’m grateful for what the internet has given me in terms of being able to connect with new people and new ideas, and find fellow like-minded souls.  I want to be able to purge myself of some bad habits this weekend, and being able to take the time off the internet is going to help me.  This is also going to give me a deadline to help me get some tasks accomplished.

I will post another update on my 30 Before 30 progress before 6:00 pm tomorrow, and then it’s three nights away.

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Weekend offline

  1. This is why I cancelled the internet 2 years ago. It’s an addiction. There were many times we would walk by the former location of the family pc, and find ourselves sitting and staring at the wall; not even realizing why we sat there in the first place.
    I grew up without it, and I believe that we should all limit our use– it is more harmful than we
    realize.

  2. I wish you good luck! But first, I gotta check out NBA.com, Talking Points Memo, Daily Kos, and my Facebook page…

  3. Good luck! Look forward to hearing about the experience.

Leave a Reply

