Not In The Past

Looking forward from 30

Five-minute free write

I don’t want to know where things lie, and I don’t see the spirits tyhat float in the air anymore.  There are too many ghosts in this city, and I think the ghosts make people forget about their current situation to their detriment.  Probably a good idea to just run down to another city with lest ghosts.  Maybe the bitter cold of Winnipeg in January will make you hardy.  I remember minus 40 degree nights with the windchill, waiting outside for a bus that took  forever to come, and I also remember they used to have an Eatons that got torn down for a hockey arena.  I still feel like visiting Winnipeg sometimes but I don’t know if I have enough of a  reason to.  I’d probably be doing it on a journey where I’m just passing through, not as  a final destination.  My life needs to start moving again; I need to find my centre and I want to find stories to tell.  I crave solitude on the prairie with my camera and my notebook.  I have the stories coming back to me, and I want to find a way to make it all true, original, captivating, and authentic.  I feel like meeting up with someone out in the hall,  getting a car and going from one end of the country to the other.  I really miss too many people and I need to just say hi to them.  Hello, friends.  I love you.

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

