Not In The Past

Looking forward from 30

On personal projects and the Occupy NS eviction…

I’m heading back up to Miramichi on the train tomorrow.  It was a good two weeks in Halifax: I may not have seen everybody I wanted to see, and I wasn’t as productive as I wanted to be on the job hunt front, but I did get to see a lot of people I knew, had a few chance run-ins with others, and put my name in at more than a few places.  It’s comforting to know that I have a community of people I know here in the city, and that’s going to make my eventual relocation here so much easier.  I hope I’ll be back down here in Halifax before too long.

The news story I’ve been following while hijacking my friend’s computer is the eviction of the Occupy NS protest from Victoria Park today.  The protesters had originally set up camp in the Grand Parade on October 15, but after meetings with veterans and the mayor, they decided to accommodate the Remembrance Day services and move the protest temporarily, with the understanding that they would be back on the Grand Parade on Saturday.  And then Peter Kelly decides to have an in-camera meeting of city council and the motion is made in secret to make sure they get kicked out of the park and don’t have the chance to go back to the Grand Parade.  When I saw it blow up on my Twitter and Facebook, I saw a lot of anger.  I’m still trying to find the words to describe how I feel about the whole thing, but one thing I can’t deny is that Kelly acted in such an sneaky, underhanded, and deceitful way.  There is no way I can trust that man with anything, and he defiled the city with his actions.  He ended up causing something that overshadowed Remembrance Day when the occupiers were the ones who were trying to make sure the veterans got their due.  I’m just disgusted.

I’ve decided I might want to get started on a short story sometime quite soon.  The five-minute free write is encouraging me to just sit down, write, come up with a rough draft and not be afraid of how bad it is, and worry about making it better later.  I’ve also decided to start a project where I try to get a simple portrait of as many friends as I know.  Other than that, I’m trying to make sure I remind myself of all these different possibilities that could happen if I take a chance and put myself out there.  Meeting new people is harder after you’re done college, and for a shy introvert it is a bit harder but if I’m going to be uprooting myself into a different city I’m sure I’ll have to put myself out there.  There are plenty of open-minded, creative and just plain incredible people I’ve come across so far, and I haven’t hit 30 yet.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

