Not In The Past

Looking forward from 30

One week in, one to go

I’ve been in Halifax for a week now.  The main purpose of my trip is to look for work; I’ve sent out a few job applications online already but next week I’m going to be dropping resumes off and doing whatever it takes to land something in the city.  I’m staying with friends and for the most part I have been taking it easy, with the occasional brief outing with friends at night and briefly checking out the nightlife.  I’m not as young as I thought I was, though.  I went to Strange Adventures on Wednesday night for Katie Beaton‘s book signing, and it was good to see her again.  Lately I’ve just been resting at my home base here in Dartmouth, with a fraction of the adventurous spirit that I had during the summer.

I wonder whether I will take advantage of all that the area has to offer if I were to move down here, or would I just get into my safe pattern and stick within it.  I’m glad I know as many people here as I do, and I’ve met some more people online, but I know I’m going to eventually have to integrate a little further in socially and get involved with different things (work schedule permitting).  I’m not one of those people who feels completely at-ease in social situations (though I manage better than I thought I did), and I’m more willing to strike up a conversation online than in a bar.  Even when I am online, sometimes I just sit back and watch, content to click “like” if I can’t think of a worthwhile addition to the dialogue.

I’ve been thinking of doing a webcomic.  I might have to find someone to draw for me or just have the art look really, really crude at first, but ever since I’ve gotten into Something Positive and Girls With Slingshots a few years back, I’ve really liked the idea of doing a serial comic with an ensemble cast.  I just feel like there’s this expression that I’m trying to get out of me but I’m not entirely sure of the form it will take, or the best way to do it.

I’m going to continue with the Five Minute Free Write for the time being, and try to do it on a daily basis.  I wonder if I should expand the amount of time I do my writing in?  I kind of like having these runs posted publicly where I can be held accountable.  It also opens me up to feedback.  I blog to connect to people; why should I keep myself an island?

 

 

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “One week in, one to go

  1. Some of the best webcomics out there have very simple art. http://xkcd.com/ is probably my favorite. Anyway, if it’s something you want to do, do it! You don’t have to publish it right away – maybe try to do 15 strips and get in the groove, then decide which ones are ready for an audience.

Leave a Reply

