Not In The Past

Looking forward from 30

That Restless Feeling

Moving around all the time when I was kid has made me get really bored when I stick in one spot for too long.  When I think about where I’ve been in the last couple of years, I realize that I haven’t been completely and permanently planted in New Brunswick, but I still feel frustrated that there’s so much of the world that’s I haven’t seen.

I’m ready to move.  I’ve been planning a move to Halifax, NS for the last few months, although even before that I knew I was not going to stay in Miramichi, NB for very long.  The fact that I’ve been here for over a year now is kind of a personal letdown on my part: as restless as I can get here, I also have the knack of falling into complacency and not pushing myself out of a less-than-desirable situation if I’ve become comfortable.  I had also been considering moving to Toronto, Montreal or Vancouver, but when I came to Halifax last July, I knew that city had enough going on that it was not going to feel like a compromise on my part.

When I look at the patterns I’ve been falling back on over the past few years, I’m not happy.  I don’t eat as well or exercise as much as I know I should.  I’m too much of a hermit and shy away from social contact except for token efforts.

Starting over is probably the best thing for me.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

