Not In The Past

Looking forward from 30

Three Twenty Three AM Scrap

Scrap One: Sitting on the bus with my iPod on and reading a Sarah Vowell book.  I like Vowell, she has this enthusiasm for her favorite subjects that I identify with, and the stuff about her religious upbringing is pretty familiar myself.  It’s a hot day and I’m glad the bus has air conditioning but I have a long ride ahead of me and by the time it’s over I’ll be glad to be able to walk around.  I’m on the 401 going towards Montreal; the bus just got onto the highway and are still right in the middle of Toronto.  I’ve been this way a few times before and I remember being surrounded by city for what ended up being like hours.  Even when you get out of Toronto it’s still urban sprawl for quite a while until suddenly it just gives way to countryside, exits for the nearby towns and those roadside service centres with the McDonalds and Tim Horton’s.

The last time I did this was a few years ago, and it gave me this feeling I just wanted to chase ever since.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

